York school wins McDougalls Young Baking Team of the Year

York school wins McDougalls Young Baking Team of the Year

A primary school from York has won this year’s McDougalls Young Baking Team of the Year competition.

The finals were held at the LACA Main Event on Thursday 6th July, where five schools battled it out in a live bake off. Chapter House Preparatory School won the 2017 competition with their Queen Ethelburga’s Mess.

Teams are made up of pupils and the school chef or food teacher, and recipes must include some local produce. Lara Haigh and Jack Bennett, both aged nine, supported by school caterer Sarah Middlemiss, used fresh strawberries, garden mint and locally sourced eggs within their recipe, named after the senior school to which Chapter House belongs. They won £1,000 worth of kitchen equipment for their school, which was presented to them by LACA chair Sally Shadrack.

Middlemiss commented: “I really couldn’t be prouder of the team and their achievement in the competition today. Despite being a team member down due to illness, Lara and Jack threw themselves into the competition and worked calmly and meticulously to create their winning dish. They developed the recipe themselves back in our school kitchen in York, and I have been overwhelmed by their commitment to this competition.”

Also competing in the final were Coed Eva Primary School from Cwmbran with their spinach and goats cheese pinwheel pizza kebabs; Cranbrook CEP School from Kent with their hot roast sausage toad in the hole with sage and thyme batter; Mendip Green Primary School from North Somerset with their Weston-super-Summerfruit croquembouche; and Perran-ar-Worthal School from Cornwall with their Perranwell Pasty.

“After two successful years, we were excited to see what this year’s finalists would bring to the competition,” said Sarah Robb, foodservice channel marketing manager at Premier Foods. “We were very impressed by the children’s imagination, dedication and enthusiasm throughout the competition and would like to thank everyone who contributed to making the competition such a triumph for the third year running.”