ASSIST FM celebrates industry with awards

ASSIST FM celebrates industry with awards

The 2018 ASSIST FM Awards were announced at the ASSIST FM Conference last month, recognising people from across facilities management in councils across Scotland.

As well as announcing the winner of Scottish School Cook of the Year, which went to Tracey Biggs from Scottish Borders Council, the gala dinner saw the presentation of the ASSIST Awards. Winners included Sidlawview Primary School in Tayside as Catering Team of the Year, sponsored by LiveKitchen.

Sidlawview Primary’s catering team, headed up by Tamara Bradley, have worked to develop relationships with not only the school staff but also the pupils and serve up new foods, salads and homemade breads daily to encourage the pupils to try new things.

“The team has a genuine and sensitive approach with their customers, nursery and primary school pupils, and they regularly participate in training courses to aid their own personal development,” said the judges.

“Their hard work and dedication comes through in their service which never fails to meet the needs of the school, providing meals of a consistently high standard always ensuring that the varied dietary needs of the individual pupils are met with a caring and sensitive approach.”

Bradley’s team includes Alison Stewart, Angela Bustard, Tina Barron, Leanne McMahon, Stevie McHardy and Joan Christie.

Cleaning Team of the Year
Whitehill Service Centre in West Lothian Council

Catering Team of the Year
Sidlawview Primary School, Tayside Contracts

Janitor/Caretaker of the Year – New!
James Gilluley, Garnock Community Campus, North Ayrshire Council

Making A Difference Award – New!
Calderglen High School Catering Team, South Lanarkshire Council!

School Crossing Patroller
Grace ‘Peggy’ Ferries, Muirfield School, Aberdeen City Council

National Chair Award
Roger Kellow, Hobart UK